This project is read-only.

Simple Shape Selection Demo in VB6

Sep 30, 2011 at 10:42 AM

Hi,

I'm new to MapWinGIS.ocx, just find it interesting and want to see if I can replace my old ESRI component with MapWinGIS

However, I still can't get / understand the documentation on how to use this component.

Do you have any sample code in VB6 on how to display 2 or more layer of shapefile, and then select (highlight) a region when user click on it?

I have try to display 1 layer with code like this:

Dim sf2 As New Shapefile
    sf2.Open "c:\map\LIBE_BLK.shp"
    Map1.AddLayer sf2, True

When I try to insert another layer, the first layer is just replaced by this new layer, how to set the transparancy?

Sorry if my question is very basic.

Any sample code or link to tutorial will be very appreciated.

Thanks.

Oct 4, 2011 at 12:56 AM

dim sf1 as new mapwingis.shapefile

dim sf2 as new mapwingis.shapefile

sf1.open "file1.shp"

sf2.open "file2.shp"

Map1.addlayer sf1, true

map2.addlayer sf2, true

in "form_load" :

map.sendMouseDown = true

in "map_mousedown"

convert the X and Y pixels of mouse click to projected X and Y and then use shapefile.selectshapes to find the shapes that intersect your projected X and Y. Finally you can use Map.ShapeColor() to set the color of the selected shapes...

Oct 4, 2011 at 3:54 AM

hi danames,

thanks a lot for the response!

well, I have come up with the code like below, but still no luck.

2 questions:

- When calling SelectShape, the ShapeID below result nothing (Lbound = 0, UBound = -1), althoung I have clicked on a shape

- Adding the second layer replacing the first layer, how to set the transparancy background?

Thanks.

Dim sf1 As New MapWinGIS.Shapefile
Dim sf2 As New MapWinGIS.Shapefile
Dim ext As New MapWinGIS.extents

Private Sub Form_Load()
    sf1.Open "c:\map\LIBE_COM.shp"
    sf2.Open "c:\map\LIBE_BLK.shp"

Map1.AddLayer sf1, True
    Map1.AddLayer sf2, True

Map1.SendMouseDown = True
End Sub