Shape Selection and Highlighting

Oct 20, 2011 at 10:22 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to the MapWinGIS ActiveX control and just downloaded it (v4.8RC3) for the first time yesterday. Based on many of the helpful posts on this discussion board and the documentation, I was able to put together a quick "proof of concept" using VBA within Excel.  I've managed to put in the following functionality:

• Button to add data (shapefiles and images)
  • Button to remove data
  • Button to move data up or down in the map
  • Navigation buttons (zoom in, zoom out, zoom to extent, pan)
  • Selection tool which returns attributes to a list box

The selection tool is working to select features and put their attributes into a list box, however I can't for the life of me figure out how to get my selected features to change color when selected.  I've searched the forums and found a few posts and examples but still can't seem to get it to work.

Does anyone have a good working example that they would be willing to share? I'll gladly share what I have put together (click here to download my example) as well in case it helps anyone else.

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Coordinator
Oct 21, 2011 at 3:10 PM

Matt,

First welcome to the community. We'll try to help you as we can.
Did you already looked at the test script (svn.mapwindow.org/svnroot/TestingScripts/), they have a lot of sample code.

About your question. You can set the selection using

shapefile.SelectedShapes(shapeID, True)

You also might considering a different approach. Instead of adding the map to your Excel sheet, you can also create a plug-in for MapWindow that will handle your Excel sheet.
Then you don't need to create all the default functions, you can use the ones provided by MapWindow. Just a thought.

I hope it helps,

Paul

Oct 24, 2011 at 3:32 PM

Paul,

Thanks, that did the trick. I knew I was missing something simple. I just had to add this to my loop:

Shapefile.ShapeSelected(ShapeID(i)) = True